Eating out: Lentil Soup

It’s rare that I find lentils in a restaurant.  Sad considering how awesome they are, but to be expected since most of the time people think they are capers when I have them in my lunch.  😦  Anyway, the one time I generally see lentils on a menu is in a lentil soup.  I love a good lentil soup, especially on a rainy evening in the fall.

Last night, with the kiddo off at his grandparents, the husb and I had a chance to go out to dinner just the two of us.  We chose a local restaurant that has over 100 things on the menu, including 6 soups.  When I heard lentil soup as one of my options, I had to have it.

It was fantastic.  Smoky, creamy, with large lentils, bits of carrots, and onions.  I ate all of it without thinking about what was causing the smokiness until I saw the bits in the bottom of the cup:  bacon.  Vegetarian FAIL but lentil WIN. 

I will be attempting to make it this at home.  Expect a recipe soon!

About Jen

I'm just a girl, who's Mommy to a wild three year old, wife to an unemployed music teacher (thanks economy), works as a radiation chemist, and spends my evenings reading books on religion, doing yoga and cooking up yummy vegetarian food. Completely normal, right?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eating out: Lentil Soup

  1. Sarah says:

    Lol, so if you bring a bowl of lentils, people really think you’re chowing down on capers? Gross!

    • Jen says:

      Yeah, pretty much. We have monthly potlucks here at work, and I almost always bring something lentil based. I am pretty sure I’m the only one who eats them. With red lentils, I can usually get some people to try, but brown ones, it’s all me.

      Best part is, my least favorite food in the whole wide world is…..capers! LOL

Leave a comment